POWERSOLO (DK/ USA)

POWERSOLO is a rock and roll band which formed in 1996 in Aarhus, Denmark by Vocalist/Guitarist Kim “Kix” Jeppesen. POWERSOLO is an active group, recording and touring internationally and extensively through Europe and the USA, as-well-as featuring on several soundtracks for TV and film including the Danish/Canadian crime drama Himmerland, and american television series True Blood and American Horror Story.
Their sound- termed by the band as “Donkey Punk” is characterized by an often frantic and raucous blend of Garage, Punk, Psychobilly, Surf, and World Music. This patois leans heavily on a Blues-based rock sound which is recorded often with what could be called utilitarian, obscure, or often primitive instruments and tech. This loans a very authentic-sounding vintage aesthetic to their recordings.
POWERSOLO’s live shows often leave eventhe most seasoned of showgoers bewildered and confused, but always entertained by their quirky, rude, and silly-yet-threatening stage antics- if not by the simple raw power that this group delivers to the crowd at every performance.
Influences and Genretizing Issues.
POWERSOLO brings together a distinctively widespread mix of genres centered around an
aforementioned mix of Garage, Punk, Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Psychedelic, Acid Rock, Blues, World Music, Country, Hard Rock, and frankly an objective list of others as well. Never a band to be put into one box, these influences bounce back-and-forth on every record, displaying the groups versatility, whilst still always carrying a retro-rock vibe to all of their compositions. This is bound together sonically by what is often an analog-driven or lofi approach to recording. It could be said that POWERSOLO’s sound is somewhat stripped-down, but never minimalist rock n’ roll.
You’re just Seven Inches From Heaven baby!

Available:

all year around, get in touch!

Tourdates:

21/06/2024 D-Nürtingen, Schön am Neckar Festival TICKETS

Lineup:

Kim Kix (vocal, guitar)
Mike ‘Zack’ Sullivan (drums)
Charlie ‘Jew Curly’ Shapiro (baritone guitar, backing vocals)

Label:

Crunchy Frog, Slovenly Recordings and Dirty Water Records

VIDEO:

POWERSOLO (DK)

POWERSOLO ist eine Rock’n’Roll-Band, die 1996 in Aarhus, Dänemark, von Sänger/Gitarrist Kim „Kix“ Jeppesen gegründet wurde. POWERSOLO ist eine aktive Gruppe, die international und ausgiebig durch Europa und die USA tourt und ständig Platten aufnimmt sowie in mehreren Soundtracks für Fernsehen und Film mitwirkt, darunter das dänisch-kanadische Krimidrama Himmerland und die amerikanischen Fernsehserien True Blood und American Horror Story.

Ihr Sound, der von der Band als „Donkey Punk“ bezeichnet wird, zeichnet sich durch eine oft hektische und raue Mischung aus Garage, Punk, Psychobilly, Surf und Weltmusik aus. Dieses Patois lehnt sich stark an einen Blues-basierten Rock-Sound an, der oft mit etwas aufgenommen wird, was man als utilitaristische, obskure oder primitive Technik bezeichnen könnte. Dies verleiht ihren Aufnahmen eine sehr authentisch klingende Vintage-Ästhetik.

Die Live-Shows von POWERSOLO lassen selbst die erfahrensten Konzertbesucher oft verwirrt zurück, werden aber immer von ihren skurrilen und albernen, aber bedrohlichen Bühnenpossen unterhalten – wenn nicht von der einfachen rohen Kraft, die diese Gruppe bei jeder Aufführung dem Publikum liefert.

POWERSOLO vereint eine unverwechselbar weit verbreitete Mischung aus Garage, Punk, Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Psychedelic, Acid Rock, Blues, Weltmusik, Country und Hard Rock. Es ist keine Band, die in eine Schublade gesteckt werden kann. Deren Einflüsse springen auf jeder Platte hin und her und zeigen die Vielseitigkeit der Gruppe, während sie all ihren Kompositionen immer noch einen Retro-Rock-Vibe verleihen. Dies wird akustisch durch einen oft analog-getriebenen oder Lofi-Ansatz bei der Aufnahme zusammengehalten. Man könnte sagen, dass der Sound von POWERSOLO etwas abgespeckter, aber niemals minimalistischer Rock’n’Roll ist.

Available:

das ganze Jahr über verfügbar!

Tourdates:

21/05/2023 D-Düsseldorf, Pitcher
26/05/2023 D-Lübeck, Treibsand
27/05/2023 D-Berlin, Wild at heart
28/05/2023 D-Erfurt, Bandhaus
29/05/2023 D-Dresden, Ostpol
30/05/2023 A-Wien, Arena TICKETS
31/05/2023 D-Mainz, Schon schön TICKETS
01/06/2023 D-Münster, Gleis 22
02/06/2023 D-Essen, Freakshow TICKETS
03/06/2023 D-Husum, Speicher

Lineup:

Kim Kix (vocal, guitar)
Mike Sullivan (drums)
Anderz Pedersen (baritone guitar)
Charlie Shapiro (bass, backing vocals)

Label:

Crunchy Frog & Platinum Records

VIDEO: